S’more Bars

Oddly enough, when asking my volleyball team for ideas about what to bake, the first request was ‘s’mores cookies’. Not being a lover of marshmallows and never having had a s’more cookie, I immediately dismissed the idea. On my way home from practice, in a taxi with a few girls from my team, I looked up recipes for s’mores cookies. Nothing interesting came up, but the pictures I saw looked sooooo good. I decided that I would make up a recipe on my own.

After a little research and deliberation, I decided that s’mores brownies would be a fresh twist on the cookie concept. I looked up a recipe for s’mores and came across a version that looked delicious. I loosely followed this recipe – adding and subtracting a bunch of ingredients. I brought these bars to Sunday practice, and my team LOVED them. My coach offered to buy me the ingredients if I would make them for him again. The dessert tastes like a campfire; smokey, chocolatey s’mores, but even tastier. These are my new go-to bar recipe. Enjoy!

INGREDIENTS

1cup butter, softened

3cup sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1cups flour

3cup graham cracker crumbs

1 teaspoon baking powder

1teaspoon salt

16 oz milk chocolate chocolate chips (of 4 large hershey bars)

3 cups miniature marshmallows

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat oven to 350ºF. Grease an 8 inch square baking pan.
  2. Beat butter and sugar together until well blended in a large bowl. Add egg and vanilla; beat well.
  3. In another bowl stir together flour, graham cracker crumbs, baking powder, and salt. Add to butter mixture, beating until blended.
  4. Press half the dough into the prepared pan. Bake 15 minutes.
  5. Spread the chocolate chips over the baked layer. Sprinkle with marshmallows. Scatter remaining dough over the marshmallows, forming a top layer.
  6. Bake 10- 15 minutes or until just lightly browned. Cool completely before cutting.

Love,

Ally

 

 

http://www.food.com/recipe/smores-bars-169114#activity-feed

Leave a comment