Gluten-Free Coconut Chia Macaroons

Sorry for the long absence. I decided to take a short break from this blog for a few months because of my busy schedule. Volleyball practices ended a few weeks ago, and because I love baking for my team, I have a variety of delicious recipes waiting to be posted!!! With practices and tournaments over and a class that I was taking at John Jay College ending, I’ll have more time to post. Hopefully after my final exams and my project based assessments/PBAs (my public schools opts out of standardized testing and instead tests knowledge through difficult essays, projects and presentations), I will resume my weekly postings!!

I recently saved my babysitting earnings to buy myself photography lighting equipment, and I am hoping to slowly improve the quality of my foodography over the next months. I’m looking forward to “revamping” my website this summer. Much more to come!!!

I decided to repost these macaroons with a new and improved recipe and photos. This recipe is simple, perfect for a snack on a cool spring day, and absolutely delicious. I’ve found that lots of sweet desserts often have an artificial and un-natural taste to them. I love how these macaroons lack those qualities and always taste wholesome and delicious. Definitely a healthier (and gluten-free) alternative to cookies!!

ENJOY!

 

 

 

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup softened butter

1 cup sugar

4 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla extract

3/4 cup sifted coconut flour (Specifically Trader joe’s)

2 cups Shredded Sweetened Coconut

1 tablespoon of Chia Seeds

 

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat the oven to 375F. Lightly grease a baking sheet
  2. Lightly blend the butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla together. Stir in the coconut flour, shredded coconut and the chia seeds.
  3. The mixture shouldn’t be wet, like a batter. If the mixture is not dry, add additional flour.
  4. Drop tablespoon sized scoops (using a tablespoon or a cookie scoop) onto the baking sheet. The macaroons don’t expand, so don’t worry about placing them close together.
  5. Bake for 12-15 Minutes or until golden brown. The coconut flakes protruding from the macaroons will be significantly darker (see image above). Immediately transfer to a cooling rack and let sit until cool.

Love,

Ally!!

Leave a comment